PDA

View Full Version : Replacing a character in multiple OBX lines

wit-man
05-24-2012, 12:07 PM
First, forgive me if I use the wrong terminology or process as this is my first attempt at modifying a transformer.

I am trying to use javascript to remove a carat character in the OBX|5 field. So, for example, I want to change the following lines:

OBX|1|ST|BT^BLOOD TYPE^B^BLD TYPE^B||^OP|
OBX|2|ST|ABSGEL^ANTIBODY SCREEN GEL^B^ABS GEL^ABS||^NEGATIVE|

In this, I want to replace "^OP" with "OP" in the first line and I want to replace "^NEGATIVE" with "NEGATIVE" in the second line. Can someone assist.

I haven't tried it yet but can someone tell me if this looks correct:

-----------------------------------------

var str

for(var i=0;i<msg['OBX'].length();)
{
str = msg['OBX'][i]['OBX.5'].toString()
msg['OBX'][i]['OBX.5'].toString() = str.replace("^", "");
i++;
}

-----------------------------------------

Thanks.

wit-man
05-24-2012, 12:22 PM
Sorry, I think this should be:

var str

for(var i=0;i<msg['OBX'].length();)
{

str = msg['OBX'][i]['OBX.5']
msg['OBX'][i]['OBX.5'] = str.replace("^","");

i++;
}

Emoticons are replacing some of the text.

wit-man
05-24-2012, 12:23 PM
OK, where do I disable the emoticons???

narupley
05-24-2012, 12:26 PM
If that's a sample message from your client, then they're sending you messages with the observation value in OBX.5.2 rather than OBX.5.1.

If that caret is meant to be literal, then the client is sending you technically invalid HL7 (they should be sending the caret as \S\ instead). In this case the best course of action (though not always feasible) is to go back to the client and get them to send you proper HL7.

Otherwise, it sounds like you just want the observation value to come in OBX.5.1 right? If so, do this:

for each (obx in msg.OBX)
for each (obx5 in obx['OBX.5'])
if (!obx5['OBX.5.1'].toString() && obx5['OBX.5.2'].toString()) {
obx5['OBX.5.1'] = obx5['OBX.5.2'].toString();
delete obx5['OBX.5.2'];
}