PDA

View Full Version : "Cannot read property from undefined" when trying to process multiple OBR/OBX

stacy.atx
06-27-2012, 12:21 PM
Hello!

I'm very new to Mirth, but I have tried to search the forums diligently and can't find an answer to my problem. I'm trying to process HL7 files that have multiple OBR and OBX segments and write them to a SQL database with a separate row for each OBX. We're able to successfully write the information to the database, but I'm receiving a "Cannot read property from undefined" Mirth error.

Based upon a helpful Mirth article (http://www.mirthcorp.com/community/wiki/display/mirth/Mapping+Multiple+Segments+to+a+Database), I chose to use a destination filter to parse out the multiple segments. A colleague of mine who knows some JavaScript tweaked the provided script to accomodate our needs. The data now successfully writes to the database as we expect. However, errors are being thrown in Mirth for "Cannot read property "OBX.1" from undefined".

My colleague explained that the error is being thrown because the loop essentially doesn't know to stop when there are no additional OBXs actually present under an OBR, which makes sense. However, we don't know how to proceed from here to fix the code or our setup so that we have the information written to SQL and also do not receive Mirth errors.

I've attached the channel (a work in progress), the error message, and the script, and also posted the script below.

Any advice?

Thank you!
Stacy

// based upon http://www.mirthcorp.com/community/wiki/display/mirth/Mapping+Multiple+Segments+to+a+Database
//first thing you may want to do here is ensure that you are
// only dealing with messages that have the segments you are
// looking for.

if(msg['MSH']['MSH.9']['MSH.9.1'].toString() == "ORU" && msg['MSH']['MSH.9']['MSH.9.2'].toString() == "R01")
{
//the driver will depend on your database. we will use SQL
var driver = "net.sourceforge.jtds.jdbc.Driver";