web stats
accessing a RESTful web service? - Mirth Community

Go Back   Mirth Community > Mirth Connect > Support

Old 11-01-2011, 09:45 AM
OBX.1 Kenobi

DavidL is on a distinguished road
Unhappy accessing a RESTful web service?

I guess I should note that not only am I new to Mirth, but I've been stuck mostly supporting thick client applications for a few years, so I'm somewhat new to web services as well.

I'm trying to set up a destination for an external partner. They've given us a (RESTful) web service URL and some sample Java code which uses the Apache Commons HttpClient (I note this only because that's what Mirth seems to be using internally).
The service expects data in JSON format, which I suppose is somewhat unusual.

I know that, since it's a REST web service, I need to use the HTTP sender rather than the Web Service (SOAP) sender.

I can send just fine using the sample Java code they sent us; but in Mirth I invariably get an error 415 (unsupported media type). I've tried:
+ changing the content type to "application/json",
+ setting Multipart to true;
+ enabling response headers;
... but nothing is working.

I performed a packet capture using Wireshark, and I noticed the following.
It appears that Mirth is appending a question mark to the URL -- which would make sense if I had query parameters, but I don't.
The Java snippet is *not* sending a Content-Type header.
The Java sample results in the data being sent as a separate packet.

Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Old 11-01-2011, 10:49 AM
OBX.1 Kenobi

ironbridge is on a distinguished road

Hi David. When the resful services I need to call from Mirth become too complicated, I often use custom code in a transformer step to make the call.

Here's a post that describes how to call a secure https service, but the same method could be used for a custom json web service I suppose. Json would be nice because you could eval the json string that you receive back from the web service.