web stats
Queue messages - DB - Page 2 - Mirth Community

Go Back   Mirth Community > Mirth Connect > Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 06-19-2017, 01:32 PM
AlexNeiva AlexNeiva is offline
Mirth Guru
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Portugal
Posts: 277
AlexNeiva is on a distinguished road
Default

Ok i see... and makes sense!!!
But if i archive, i will be able to search in Mirth channel, for some message processed like 8 month ago?
Archiving messages have no effect in the DB grow then? it will minimize it?
What are the settings in Mirth so i can start archiving messages?

Sorry for all the questions. I just need some guidelines on it...
Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-19-2017, 01:38 PM
kirbykn2's Avatar
kirbykn2 kirbykn2 is offline
Mirth Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Michigan
Posts: 570
kirbykn2 is on a distinguished road
Default

When you archive messages they are removed from Mirth and will not be available for searching in Mirth.

Two pieces to pruning
1. Message Pruning configuration within each channel
2. Setting --> Data Pruner. This controls how often the pruning process runs, whether messages are just deleted or archived to a folder, etc.
__________________
Kirby

Mirth Certified|Epic Bridges Certified|Cloverleaf Level 2 Certified

Appliance Version 3.11.2
Mirth Connect Version 3.6.1
Java Version 1.6.0_45-b06
Java (64 bit) Version 1.6.0_45-b06
Java 7 (64 bit) Version 1.7.0_151-b15
Java 8 (64 bit) Version 1.8.0_121-b13
PostgreSQL Version 9.6.3
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-19-2017, 01:42 PM
AlexNeiva AlexNeiva is offline
Mirth Guru
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Portugal
Posts: 277
AlexNeiva is on a distinguished road
Default

So, if i archive messages they will get removed from Mirth, meaning they not occupy space in the DB, and messages are like exported to a folder is that it?
To archive messages do i need to check the "allow message archive" in the channel summary?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-19-2017, 01:46 PM
kirbykn2's Avatar
kirbykn2 kirbykn2 is offline
Mirth Guru
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Michigan
Posts: 570
kirbykn2 is on a distinguished road
Default

Yes to both,

I believe allow message archiving is checked by default.
__________________
Kirby

Mirth Certified|Epic Bridges Certified|Cloverleaf Level 2 Certified

Appliance Version 3.11.2
Mirth Connect Version 3.6.1
Java Version 1.6.0_45-b06
Java (64 bit) Version 1.6.0_45-b06
Java 7 (64 bit) Version 1.7.0_151-b15
Java 8 (64 bit) Version 1.8.0_121-b13
PostgreSQL Version 9.6.3
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-19-2017, 01:49 PM
AlexNeiva AlexNeiva is offline
Mirth Guru
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Portugal
Posts: 277
AlexNeiva is on a distinguished road
Default

Last questions...
Data pruner deletes messages from database correct? Does not just mark them as deleted...
Is there some problem if i use Vaccum tool in postgres to shrink the Mirth DB?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-19-2017, 10:44 PM
siddharth siddharth is offline
Mirth Guru
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 832
siddharth is on a distinguished road
Default

Don't do that Alex. Don't try to shrink DB with tools, because there are hazards to it.

Pruning removes data from the mirthDB, but you will never gain back your space. And it is not a Mirth thing, it is a database thing.

Look at this post for the explanation

http://www.mirthproject.org/communit...94&postcount=5
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-20-2017, 06:15 AM
narupley's Avatar
narupley narupley is online now
Mirth Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 7,119
narupley is on a distinguished road
Default

We have auto-vacuum setup for PostgreSQL on Mirth Appliances, so I think that should be fine. It's not an external thing, it's a feature built into the postgres server itself.
__________________
Step 1: JAVA CACHE...DID YOU CLEAR ...wait, ding dong the witch is dead?

Nicholas Rupley
Work: 949-237-6069
Always include what Mirth Connect version you're working with. Also include (if applicable) the code you're using and full stacktraces for errors (use CODE tags). Posting your entire channel is helpful as well; make sure to scrub any PHI/passwords first.


- How do I foo?
- You just bar.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-20-2017, 06:25 AM
AlexNeiva AlexNeiva is offline
Mirth Guru
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Portugal
Posts: 277
AlexNeiva is on a distinguished road
Default

Ok, it is clear to me now.
It is a simple thing but very important one.

Thank you all for the great responses. It help me to understood more about this subject and hope help other Mirth users too.

Best Regards
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-20-2017, 06:41 AM
siddharth siddharth is offline
Mirth Guru
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 832
siddharth is on a distinguished road
Default

I think we should put a sticky on the forum around the do's and don't of DB pruning. This question comes up a lot and mostly people have conflicting knowledge whether they gain any space or not.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-20-2017, 06:51 AM
AlexNeiva AlexNeiva is offline
Mirth Guru
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Portugal
Posts: 277
AlexNeiva is on a distinguished road
Default

Yes, that would be great... the do's, don't and some tricks on performance of the DB.
I think most of users will appreciate that
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
database increase, disk space, postgres, queue, queued messages

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Mirth Corporation