convert x12(270) into xml and write that xml into file - Mirth Community

Go Back   Mirth Community > Mirth Connect > Support

Old 07-12-2012, 11:03 PM
Mirth Newb

nikhilb is on a distinguished road
Default convert x12(270) into xml and write that xml into file

Hi,

I am new to mirth.
I want to convert incoming X12(270) meassage from file reader into XML and store/write that XML into file using file writer as channel destination.
Do I need to write any transformation code for this under transformer section ?
If yes, how it will be ?
For destination file writer it asks for template. what I need to put there ?

Could anyone pl provide me the steps for this.

Thanking you,
Nikhil
Old 07-13-2012, 07:34 AM
Mirth Employee

narupley is on a distinguished road

Luckily, Mirth will automatically convert an X12 message into XML for you. When it creates the "msg" variable, that is an E4X XML object, that then will be serialized into the encoded data (the flat XML string).

Basically, if you have X12 is your Source Inbound and Source Outbound protocols, choose XML as your Destination Outbound protocol, and then just include the encoded data in your File Writer template, then that will accomplish what you're looking for.

Nicholas Rupley
Work: 949-237-6069
Always include what Mirth Connect version you're working with. Also include (if applicable) the code you're using and full stacktraces for errors (use CODE tags). Posting your entire channel is helpful as well; make sure to scrub any PHI/passwords first.

- How do I foo?
- You just bar.
Old 07-13-2012, 08:52 AM
Mirth Newb

nuerotic is on a distinguished road

what is is the best way to get started to creating 837 from an xml file?
Old 07-13-2012, 09:26 AM
Mirth Employee

narupley is on a distinguished road

Didn't you want to go the other way? Id est, from X12 to XML?