web stats
is it possible to develop in 3.2.2 and deploy in 3.2.1? - Mirth Community

Go Back   Mirth Community > Mirth Connect > Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-17-2015, 04:25 AM
Jurjan Jurjan is offline
OBX.1 Kenobi
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 37
Jurjan is on a distinguished road
Default is it possible to develop in 3.2.2 and deploy in 3.2.1?

Hi people,
I'm developing in Mirth for a few different clients (some shared channels, some custom).

At the moment we have them all on 3.2.1.

However, I would like to be able to develop in the newest version, then deploy to the clients to whatever version they may be using.
They would (at the very least be up to the same major version (3), hopefully we can persuade them to upgrade regularly and be on the same minor (3.2) version, but that's not a given (all of them want to controll when the version is updated).
For me as a developer it's important to be able to test new features, and to be able to advise them on implementing the newer versions.

However, having two Mirth instances is not all that workable.

Can someone tell me how I can see what the lowest version is that is compatible with wich version?
That is:
current version: 3.2.2 downward compatible down to X.X.X
version: 3.2.1 downwards compatible down to Y.Y.Y

I have been searching, but haven't found it yet.
Any help will be appreciated.

Jurjan
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-17-2015, 08:01 AM
narupley's Avatar
narupley narupley is online now
Mirth Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 7,111
narupley is on a distinguished road
Default

Channels from older versions can definitely be imported and used in newer versions. However, channels from newer versions can not be imported into older versions.
__________________
Step 1: JAVA CACHE...DID YOU CLEAR ...wait, ding dong the witch is dead?

Nicholas Rupley
Work: 949-237-6069
Always include what Mirth Connect version you're working with. Also include (if applicable) the code you're using and full stacktraces for errors (use CODE tags). Posting your entire channel is helpful as well; make sure to scrub any PHI/passwords first.


- How do I foo?
- You just bar.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-17-2015, 10:28 PM
Jurjan Jurjan is offline
OBX.1 Kenobi
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 37
Jurjan is on a distinguished road
Default

I was afraid of that.

But how can I then test new features, check if old channels continue to work as expected?

This way the developer (who should be the first to test new versions) will be the last (I can only suppoprt customers that have versions higher then mine).

The only way would be to install a new instance (with it's own challenges) on my computer and hope I don't get confused with the sources.

Is there a spot where I can drop my request for downwards compatability inside major (or at the very least minor) versions?

Thanks,
Jurjan

Last edited by Jurjan; 08-17-2015 at 10:29 PM. Reason: typo
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-18-2015, 08:50 AM
narupley's Avatar
narupley narupley is online now
Mirth Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 7,111
narupley is on a distinguished road
Default

Certainly, any feature requests can be made on our public JIRA: http://www.mirthcorp.com/community/i...Dashboard.jspa
__________________
Step 1: JAVA CACHE...DID YOU CLEAR ...wait, ding dong the witch is dead?

Nicholas Rupley
Work: 949-237-6069
Always include what Mirth Connect version you're working with. Also include (if applicable) the code you're using and full stacktraces for errors (use CODE tags). Posting your entire channel is helpful as well; make sure to scrub any PHI/passwords first.


- How do I foo?
- You just bar.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
downgrade

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Mirth Corporation