web stats
does the mirth user need to be the DB owner to connect in MS SQL 2008 - Mirth Community

Go Back   Mirth Community > Mirth Connect > Support

Old 08-04-2011, 08:26 PM
Mirth Newb

taj127 is on a distinguished road
Default does the mirth user need to be the DB owner to connect in MS SQL 2008

I am new to mirth and have been working on setting up a production connection to a database on our MS SQL Server 2008 cluster at my job. The problem is when testing I used MS SQL 2008 on my local machine and created the database with a mirth user I created. I followed all of the settings suggested and mirth connected to the database with no problem. For the production database our dba created the database using their sa account and created a mirth user with the role db owner. When I try to connect to this database mirth will not connect. The only difference between my local machine and the production database is on my local machine the database owner is listed as the mirth user I created. On the production system the owner is sa and I am connecting with user mirth which is apart of the db owner role for the database. All permissions are identical to what is on my local machine the database owner is the only difference that I can see.
So for SQL server does the mirth user have to be the actual owner of the database in order to connect?
Old 08-05-2011, 05:13 AM
Level 85 Channel Wizard

Bostad is an unknown quantity at this point

Hi Taj;

I usually have the user I connect to a SQL Server db from (I use 2005) set as the dbo for the database I'm accessing. I can't recall if I started doing that because I had the same problem accessing the db when I started off.

When I read your post, I'm wondering if, in your sql statement you're referencing elements using the dbo. prefix? I'm not an expert in SQL Server (especially with security settings), but I'm thinking if you have done that and the connected user isn't the owner, then maybe that's the problem?
hl7coders.wordpress.com