web stats
Restarting Mirth Service requires a redeploy? - Mirth Community

Go Back   Mirth Community > Mirth Connect > Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-02-2010, 09:17 AM
TMarz TMarz is offline
OBX.2 Kenobi
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 61
TMarz is on a distinguished road
Default Restarting Mirth Service requires a redeploy?

We have some older instances of Mirth Connect running (1.8.1 and 1.8.2) on a Linux box.
Because of the memory leak in mule with regards to permgen and heap space, we have a scheduled cronjob to stop and restart the mirth service every night.

I have noticed that after the mirth service starts, the channels do not become available until they are redeployed. You can log into mirth connect, but the dashboard is blank. You can ping the address but none of the ports will be listening on receiving channels.

Is this the way it is supposed to work?

I realize that I could just as easily put a redeploy following the start of mirth in cron, but that raises its own problems. Particularly because a redeploy called from the shell does not seem to be clean. That is to say, if a channel is in the midst of processing a message, mirth will not wait for it before forcing the redeploy and the message is essentially lost. It stays in a "transformed" state in the message browser and while it could be resent manually, I need it to be automatic.

Any thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-03-2010, 05:33 AM
john.newman john.newman is offline
OBX.3 Kenobi
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 124
john.newman is on a distinguished road
Default

No, that is definitely not how it is supposed to work. A clean restart of the service will deploy the channels everytime. Are there any suspicious messages in the mirth logs?

As far as I know there is not a setting for that. Each channel has the "initial state" property which can be "started" or "stopped"; but even if you've chosen stopped there it will still deploy them, just not start. The dashboard will show them with the red stopped icon.

The only time I've seen a service restart not successfully deploy the channels is when the mirthdb is not available. If your DB is offline when you're restarting, it will come up blank like that, you'll see an error in the log about mule configuration, and then when you later redeploy with the DB online, they'll show up ok.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-31-2011, 03:49 AM
balajik balajik is offline
What's HL7?
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Pune, India
Posts: 5
balajik is on a distinguished road
Default

Hey, r u able to solve this issue. If yes, please give me some details regarding this. I am also facing same problem.
Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-30-2012, 06:55 AM
jeffstain jeffstain is offline
What's HL7?
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 5
jeffstain
Default

Is there an easy way to check if the mirthdb is available on service restart or when channels are trying to deploy?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Mirth Corporation