web stats
"Could not connect to host" but messages still send? - Mirth Community

Go Back   Mirth Community > Mirth Connect > Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-10-2019, 12:04 PM
HollandZD HollandZD is offline
What's HL7?
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 2
HollandZD is on a distinguished road
Question "Could not connect to host" but messages still send?

Good afternoon, all,

Our campus experienced some network connectivity issues this morning, and while those issues now seem to be resolved, we are still experiencing one bit of weirdness.

On our interfaces with two specific external systems, if we click the "Test Connection" button on the TCP Sender destinations, Mirth displays a popup dialog stating "could not connect to host." However, all of the channels behaving this way have been successfully processing and sending messages all day.

Has anyone else encountered this situation, where "Test Connection" fails, but messages still send across the destination successfully? What could cause this issue, and is there some underlying connectivity issue we still need to address?

Thanks,
Zeb Holland
Arkansas Children's Hospital
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-14-2019, 06:25 PM
SHague SHague is offline
What's HL7?
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 4
SHague is on a distinguished road
Default

Could be that the channel has a successful connection and is processing messages fine, but the receiving end is at it's capacity for inbound connections on that port, so your test fails.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-14-2019, 10:13 PM
siddharth siddharth is offline
Mirth Guru
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 830
siddharth is on a distinguished road
Default

I have seen this type of issue, but it only happens when you do not mention an IP but pulling it from a velocity variable. The test connection fails because the variable is not resolved until deployed.
__________________
HL7v2.7 Certified Control Specialist!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Yesterday, 01:53 PM
HollandZD HollandZD is offline
What's HL7?
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 2
HollandZD is on a distinguished road
Default

We're not using any variables for the connection info, so I'm certain that's not the issue. The point about connections being at capacity makes theoretical sense, but it still seems odd that we have multiple channels connecting to the same system (via different ports), and "Test Connection" works for some of them but not for others. One of those channels is relatively high volume, so I could see that one failing the test due to traffic while the others succeed, but at least two of the lower volume connections fail the same way.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Mirth Corporation