web stats
Do destinations inherit transformers from preceding destinations - Mirth Community

Go Back   Mirth Community > Mirth Connect > Support

Old 10-17-2012, 12:18 PM
Mirth Newb

DeeWerner is on a distinguished road
Unhappy Do destinations inherit transformers from preceding destinations

Hi all,

Fair warning, I'm a total Mirth noob. I tend to learn software very quickly, usually without documentation, so I kind of dove right in. And now I'm SO close to having a solution in place, but keep hitting the same oddities.

I've been working with Mirth 2.2.1 (for just under 3 weeks so far) to receive HL7 messages from various health care systems (lately a lot of Epic), and in the current phase, those messages will be transformed, and output as a simple .txt file.

I'm a bit confused on where I need to put my transformers. I put transformers for segments that all event types will have in common (MSH, EVN, PID, PD1, PV1) in the source transformers. Then I have filters based on event types, and transformers on the destinations that have additional segments like PV2, NK1, DG1, and/or OBX. I thought that if a destination is above other destinations, those subsequent destinations can use transformers from them. A06 is the first that has NK1, so I put it above the other destinations hoping that any subsequent destinations would be able to use the NK1 transformers as well, but this doesn't seem to be the case, as subsequent destinations do not have values for those variables, despite data being present in the raw message.

I suppose this comes down to one question: Do I need to put transformers for segments/fields on every destination that uses them, or is there a way to allow destinations to inherit transformers from other destinations (as opposed to using the source transformers)?

I'm posting the channel, and if it's helpful, I can scrub some data and post sample messages.
Attached Files
File Type: xml IncomingInterface.xml (128.4 KB, 2 views)
Old 10-17-2012, 12:41 PM