web stats
Mirth Connect Administrator client startup is too slow - Mirth Community

Go Back   Mirth Community > Mirth Connect > Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-02-2018, 10:44 AM
andersonribeir0 andersonribeir0 is offline
What's HL7?
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 4
andersonribeir0 is on a distinguished road
Default Mirth Connect Administrator client startup is too slow

Hi,
I'm working with Mirth Connect Server 3.4.2.8129 and some performance issues are arising.
When i try to perform login, it takes too much time to show the dashboard screen (30 minutes in average).
Also sometimes the client screen crashes.


Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2680 0 @ 2.70GHz
2GB RAM
CPU and MEM usage are both ok.

I would be very grateful if anyone could help.

Regards
Attached Images
File Type: jpg top.JPG (24.1 KB, 7 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-02-2018, 11:20 PM
siddharth siddharth is offline
Mirth Guru
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 837
siddharth is on a distinguished road
Default

Is the mirth db healthy ? Does it has space to grow? I recommend pruning data first, followed by an intensive check on the channels that are using lot of resources and patching them.
__________________
HL7v2.7 Certified Control Specialist!

Last edited by siddharth; 08-02-2018 at 11:21 PM. Reason: foo
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-03-2018, 07:19 AM
agermano agermano is offline
Mirth Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 1,062
agermano is on a distinguished road
Default

Have you tried clearing your java cache and reinstalling?

Are you able to test logging in from multiple workstations? Do they all have the same problem?

Are the server and workstation on the same network? I haven't experienced anything as extreme as what you're describing, but my administrator noticeably slows down when I'm connecting over a vpn as opposed to when I'm sitting in the office.

Which version of Java are you using?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-03-2018, 11:20 AM
andersonribeir0 andersonribeir0 is offline
What's HL7?
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 4
andersonribeir0 is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks for the replies!

@siddharth Yes, i guess. At least it's not lacking resources. How can i know if a channel is using a lot of resources? It's worth noting that the problem happens in all our environments and production has way more data than the others. Only when running mirth locally this doesn't happen. There's no network problem that we're aware of.

@agermano, I've tried that in the past and it didn't help. All workstations have the same problem, yes. Restarting the server solves the problem for a short time, but we can't do this in production. In development, they're on the same network and the problem also exists, even though there's much less data than in production. We use Java 8.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-03-2018, 10:58 PM
siddharth siddharth is offline
Mirth Guru
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 837
siddharth is on a distinguished road
Default

the most likely indicators are mappings, it gives a list of variables the channel uses. The value changes per message. So if you have lot of them variables, it can be a cause. Now here, you said after a restart it is good for a while. This is second indicator, that as time grows mirth is hogging up the heap space, but not so much to cause a GC overhead exception.
__________________
HL7v2.7 Certified Control Specialist!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-07-2018, 08:27 AM
narupley's Avatar
narupley narupley is offline
Mirth Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 7,125
narupley is on a distinguished road
Default

Try taking a threaddump (jstack) of the client-side Administrator JVM when the issue is occurring.
__________________
Step 1: JAVA CACHE...DID YOU CLEAR ...wait, ding dong the witch is dead?

Nicholas Rupley
Work: 949-237-6069
Always include what Mirth Connect version you're working with. Also include (if applicable) the code you're using and full stacktraces for errors (use CODE tags). Posting your entire channel is helpful as well; make sure to scrub any PHI/passwords first.


- How do I foo?
- You just bar.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-30-2018, 10:55 AM
andersonribeir0 andersonribeir0 is offline
What's HL7?
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 4
andersonribeir0 is on a distinguished road
Talking

Hi guys,
The configuration was setted up to consume only 512MB, but even with the mem setup configured to 1.5GB, the problem still was happening.

We've upgraded our machine configuration. Now, it has 8GB and 6GB is reserved for running mirth service. Finally the problem was solved.

We added Xms and Xmx params into mcservice.vmoptions file.

Thank you everyone!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Mirth Corporation