web stats
Transformer Error - TypeError: Cannot read property "IN1.43" from undefined - Mirth Community

Go Back   Mirth Community > Mirth Connect > Support

Old 03-31-2009, 08:52 AM
Mirth Newb

RHavlick
Default Transformer Error - TypeError: Cannot read property "IN1.43" from undefined

Hello,

I'm still new to Mirth - trying to learn how it works. I'm just trying to do a real simple interface which pulls in a ADT A28 HL7 file. I mapped each segment from the incoming file to a variable, and then using an insert statement populate a database. When I run it, I get all sorts of transformer errors of: ERROR (transformer:?): TypeError: Cannot read property "IN1.43" from undefined. What's happening is that I am reading in an IN1 segment, but say the patient doesn't have a tertiary insurance, so that variable is blank. I tried setting the Default Value for the variable to "" (double quotes) - Doesn't seem to do much. Is there a way to not have variables mapped if they aren't populated in the incoming message?

Thanks.
Old 03-31-2009, 11:09 AM
Mirth Employee

jacobb is an unknown quantity at this point

You can use a JavaScript step and check if that segment != undefined first.
Code:
 if (msg['IN1']['IN1.43']['IN1.43.1'] != undefined) {
    // do mapping
}
Also make sure you're trying to map IN1.43.1 and not just IN1.43.

Want professional services, support, and enterprise or virtual appliances? It's all available from the Mirth Corporation:
Mirth Support | Mirth Training | Mirth Appliances
Old 03-31-2009, 12:13 PM
Mirth Newb

RHavlick

Thanks Jacob - there are a TON of fields, so I'm trying to keep this as much drag and dropping as possible just using Mappers and not Java Script...

Just another thought - could I use the import transformer to import and then set default values or something then have the export transformer be the one where the variables are set at? If so how do I do that, and would that eliminate the warnings?

Thanks.
Old 03-31-2009, 01:44 PM